Oscars list for VFX,

 

About vfxinsider

This is a group blog of vfx artists working in Vancouver. Inspired by vfxsoldier we decided to take a stand and speak out about the great imbalance of power that exists between the employer studios and individual vfx artists. We are tired of keeping quiet while the vfx studios come up with ever more creative payment schemes to reduce their production costs at our expense while openly violating BC labor laws.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oscars list for VFX,

  1. Confused. says:

    To answer you’re masthead question (Am I alone?).

    Judging from your poll results (0), Yes you are.

    My question, having found your blog via VFX Vancouver Yahoo, what is your proposal? From the back and forth on VFX Vancouver, it sounds like joining IA891 means going to a 12 hour day if you work at a VFX facility. I DON’T want to work a 12 hour day every day (even with OT). I work at (I guess the minority) a facility who does pay OT after 8 hours and I only have to work OT after I’m asked and agree. I’ve been here almost 4 years and I don’t have a problem. To me the IATSE thing sounds bad. I don’t want to stick my head in the sand and say It doesn’t affect me it’s your problem if you work at MPC or DD, but I don’t want to join IA if I suddenly have to go to a 12 hour day even when the company isn’t busy. That sounds ridiculous.

    • vfxinsider says:

      Yes. the 12 hour day is confusing. That’s “Up to” a 12 hour day http://vfx.iatse.com/vfx_gfx/side_letter.png

      That would be ridiculous. and very expensive for the studios and the facilities to have artists sitting around doing nothing getting paid overtime, double time, RRSP payments, and health care payments on a 60 hour week. they would all go broke. You would burn out your team in no time.

      But I’m with you on that. I don’t want to do 12 hours a day either.

      The only difference between what you have now and an IATSE contract is you pay the union around $1200 a year and get all the benefits outlined in the contract. It works out to a massive return on what you pay in.

      $2300 health plan, 3% RRSP per hour overtime, double time. on a busy year 3% in RRSP could be around $5000
      And if you have a family the health plan is really great.

      If you already have that, i would agree with you that IATSE is not useful, That side letter is awful and needs to be revised. This video sums it up http://www.youtube.com/user/iatse891vfx#p/u/3/rPq2rcJa1yw

      Thanks for the interest.

Leave a Reply

