You want a voice in your workplace?

I was working a 70 hour week three years back. I was a Jr artist. I didn’t know how to manage the stress. The shots just had to get done, the revisions just kept coming, no paid overtime. It started to effect my dreams at night. I started having awful nightmares. I woke up one morning sick from one of them. That’s right; I was physically sickened by the content of my nightmare. Anxiety and sleep deprivation caused by coffee all day and booze so i could sleep at night. I didn’t know what to do so I went to a walk in medical clinic to get sleeping pills. I guess I  ended up telling the doctor on staff about the long hours and the stress. I didn’t think she could cure me of my long work hours but i had no one else to talk to about these things.  She recommended i quit immediately. Gave me the pills, and a lot to think about. I found out months later that three other artists at the studio had also seen doctors and gotten pills. This is one of the reasons i started this blog.  In the hope that  other “atoms of consumption” may also share in a wish to change things.

There is something about the story of Matewan that is so crucial to the point of it all. A common thread that runs through us all,  when hear the cry of another “We are being exploited. And we have choices to make.” What is the least you can do to help?

About vfxinsider

This is a group blog of vfx artists working in Vancouver. Inspired by vfxsoldier we decided to take a stand and speak out about the great imbalance of power that exists between the employer studios and individual vfx artists. We are tired of keeping quiet while the vfx studios come up with ever more creative payment schemes to reduce their production costs at our expense while openly violating BC labor laws.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You want a voice in your workplace?

  1. ernie says:

    was it Stargate Digital by any chance?

Leave a Reply

